Page 73 is the 2019 NY Drama Critics Special Citation Recipient


On Monday, May 13, 2019, The New York Drama Critics' Circle awarded Page 73 with a Special Citation at their 84th annual ceremony. Also among this year’s recipients was Heidi Schreck, awarded with Best American Play for What the Constitution Means to Me.

Michael R. Jackson presenting our award.

Michael R. Jackson presenting our award.

Michael R. Jackson presented Page 73 with our award. Liz Jones, Asher Richelli, and Michael Walkup all spoke on Page 73's behalf. Amanda Feldman and Rebecca Yaggy joined them on stage to accept the award. Board Members Amanda Woods and Carson Gleberman joined us at the reception to celebrate.

Leigh Silverman presented Heidi Schreck with her award. Both Leigh and Heidi both graciously recognized Page 73 from the stage in their remarks as we co-produced Heidi's NY debut, Creature, in 2009.

What the Constitution Means to Me, written by Heidi Schreck and directed by Oliver Butler, had its Off Broadway premiere at New York Theatre Workshop on September 12, 2018 and closed on November 4, 2018, before moving to the Greenwich House Theater on November 27, 2018 where it closed December 30, 2018. The play had its Broadway premiere on March 31, 2019 at the Hayes Theatre where it currently plays.

Close up of our award!

Close up of our award!

In addition, The New York Drama Critics' Circle named The Ferryman by Jez Butterworth best play of the 2018-19 season, an the award for best musical went to Tootsie. Special citations were also given to Irish Repertory Theatre, as well as the National Yiddish Theatre Folksbiene production of Fiddler on the Roof.

The award for best play carries a cash prize of $2,500; the award for best American play is a cash prize of $1,000. The prizes are made possible by a grant from the Lucille Lortel Foundation.

The New York Drama Critics' Circle comprises 19 drama critics from daily newspapers, magazines, wire services and websites based in the New York metropolitan area. The New York Drama Critics' Circle Award, which has been awarded every year since 1936 to the best new play of the season (with optional awards for foreign or American plays, musicals and special achievements), is the nation's second-oldest theater award, after the Pulitzer Prize for drama.

Adam Feldman, theater critic and editor for Time Out New York, has served as president of the NYDCC since 2005. Joe Dziemianowicz serves as vice president; Zachary Stewart is treasurer.

In addition to Feldman, Dziemianowicz and Stewart, the members of the New York Drama Critics' Circle are: David Cote, Michael Feingold, David Finkle, Jeremy Gerard, Sara Holdren, Charles Isherwood, Christopher Kelly, David Rooney, Frank Scheck, Barbara Schuler, Helen Shaw, David Sheward, Marilyn Stasio, Terry Teachout, Elisabeth Vincentelli and Matt Windman. Emeritus members include Melissa Rose Bernardo, Robert Feldberg, Elysa Gardner, Brian Scott Lipton, Jesse Oxfeld, John Simon, Michael Sommers, Steven Suskin, Linda Winer and Richard Zoglin.

For more information on the New York Drama Critics' Circle, please visit A full breakdown of this year's voting will be posted later tonight on the organization's website.

2019Page 73Awards